I don’t know how much longer we can coddle you

I know this is hard. Examining your flaws. Accepting that you can be wrong. Seeing that other people’s pain is your pain, just as other people’s joy can be your joy.

Especially if, like me, you were basically born on second base and told you hit a double. If you came to believe that everything could be yours if you just thought hard enough. If you were left with so few coping skills for situations that didn’t yield to your grade-school analysis.

Oh, believe me I know it’s hard. I fail at it so often. Because hate is a hell of a drug, isn’t it? It’s so easy to let it take you and come out swinging, to replace doing right with being right, and then mistake being right with winning the argument.

But the thing is…I don’t think we have a lot of time. I don’t think we can afford the luxury of failing in this much longer.

I think we need you…you, me, all of us…to figure this out right now: “What happens to other people, happens to me.”

I think this may be a matter of survival.

